Manhattan Love Story (TV Review)

Manhattan Love Story Poster

My Rating: 3 out 5.

I recently stumbled upon this TV Show, Manhattan Love Story, created by Jeff Lowell and starring Analeigh Tipton and Jake McDorman. I just love Analeigh Tipton from ANTM and looking forward to seeing her shift from modelling to acting. I am also thrilled that Jake McDorman gets to be the lead guy because I just feel so sorry for his character in Greek.

Watching Manhattan Love Story was a bit of a let down. I really wanted to like this show because I’m a sucker for romantic comedies, and was also excited about the leads.  The plot is bit unoriginal and well-worn. Dana Hopkins, so innocent and sweet, just moved into the city. Peter Cooper, a cocky and confident New Yorker, ends up showing her around the city and helping her tick off the items on her bucket list.

To be fair, some lines may actually funny but I don’t find myself laughing out loud. The TV show doesn’t do anything for me. It doesn’t make me want to say
“Awww”. It doesn’t make me want to go to Manhattan and get my own bucket list. It doesn’t make me want to have my own love story or yearn for a relationship as sweet as theirs. It doesn’t even make me love/ hate them. It’s just so flat.

It also does’t help that the supporting characters David, Jade and Cathy lack chemistry. Although the characters are quirky enough, they’re not lovable enough. If they’re going for the cute clique that makes the viewers want to be part, their friendship really can’t compare to that of shows like F.R.I.E.N.D.S., New Girl, H.I.M.Y.M., The Big Bang Theory or Happy Endings.

Although, it’s not painful to watch, Manhattan Love Story is just plain vanilla for me. I’m not surprised that it got cancelled after a few episodes.

Leave a Reply

